The Department of Chemistry, SRM University organized a “One Day National Seminar on Environment and Sustainable Development - SESD 2016 on 3rd JUNE 2016 in association with IRD INDIA.  Pollution remains a major challenge for India. From water pollution to global warming, environmental issues affect every person, animal, community and nation on the planet. Sustainable development has the goal of the international community since the UN conference on environment
 and development in 1992. Hence this seminar focused on environmental protection and sustainable development.

The program of action includes four technical sessions covering the thrust areas by the lectures delivered by the experts in environmental field. Dr. S. Rajendran, RVS School of Engineering and Technology, Dindigul has delivered an invited talk on “Green Electrochemistry – A versatile tool in green synthesis”. Dr. D. Mohan, Director, FDP, Anna University has delivered an invited talk on “Membrane Technologies for Waste Water Treatment”.                        

73 papers were presented in the seminar. The papers presented addressed some of the thrust areas like sustainable life style, ecocity, ecosystem and wild life, green life style, pollution control, waste water treatment, solid waste management, hazardous waste management and green synthesis.
The best paper award was presented to an oral and a poster presentation.  This seminar was a platform for many research scholars who have started their research on environment and sustainable development. This seminar gave room   for the discussion and deliberations which will come out with concrete action plans and remedial measures to some extent to resolve the issue of conflict between environmental degradation and sustainable development.

The inaugural function was held on 3rd June 2016 at T P Ganesan Auditorium, SRM University, Kattankulathur. The Chief Guest Dr. P. Kasinadha Pandian, Principle, Tagore Engineering College, inaugurated the program and released the proceedings.  Dr. M. Arthanareeswari, Professor and Head, Department of Chemistry presided over the function. Dr. B. Sivakumar, Coordinator introduced the Chief Guest. Dr. R. Kalavizhi, Coordinator delivered vote of thanks. Dr.T. Raju, Dr.V. Narayanan, Dr.P. Kamaraj, and Dr.P.N.Sudha chaired the technical sessions. Dr.S.Devikala, Dr.K. Pandian and Dr.Stephen co-chaired the sessions.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

Share to All