A three-member search committee has been constituted to shortlist the next vice-chancellor (V-C) of the unified Anna University.
All engineering colleges in Tamil Nadu will be affiliated to the University.
The committee comprises former V-C of Tamil Nadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University, S. Sachidhanandham. He is the chancellor’s nominee and will be the convener of the committee.
The committee will also have retired IAS officer and former V-C of Madurai Kamaraj University, K. Aludiyapillai, who is the State government’s nominee, and director of faculty of science and humanities, SRM University, R. Balasubramanian, nominated by the syndicate nominee.
The committee has been asked to recommend three names to the Governor for the appointment of the V-C. The post fell vacant after Mannar Jawahar completed his term in June last year. The government then appointed a three-member panel to take care of University affairs.
The merger of the Anna Universities of Technologies in Chennai, Coimbatore, Madurai, Tiruchi and Tirunelveli took place last August.
P. Kaliraj of Alagappa College of Technology assumed charge as officiating V-C and has been handling university affairs since then.

Share to All